2016 awards reading

Holy wah, Hugo nominations are open already! My short fiction reading has fallen off in a pretty severe way the past few months, but I still read a lot of great things that came out last year. Take a look around, and then please point me at all the best things you read from 2016! This list will probably grow as I come across more great work that I didn’t get to in the past year …

Short Stories:

Novelettes (how did I not read more novelette-length fiction last year?! please let me know your recs):

Novellas:

  • Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire
  • Hammers on Bone, Cassandra Khaw (CTHULHU MYTHOS HARDBOILED NOIR!!)

Novels:

  • The Girl Who Raced Fairyland All the Way Home, Catherynne Valente. (I’m not ready for this series to be over.) (ALSO I believe this should be eligible for the Best Series award!)
  • The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin. (I’m more than ready to have Book #3 of this series in my grubby little hands, though.)
  • Too Like the Lightning, Ada Palmer.
  • Ghost Talkers, Mary Robinette Kowal.
  • Everfair, Nisi Shawl.
  • Cloudbound, Fran Wilde.
  • Infomocracy, Malka Older.
  • All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders.

Okay bye time to go weep tears of blood over my short story and novel selections.

Leave a Reply

