#PitchWars mentee bio (no minute like the last minute)

Well, I’ve decided to give PitchWars a shot again this year. Thanks for stopping by, potential mentors and fellow mentee hopefuls! Here’s a picture of my dog in a sombrero, just to get thing off on the right note.

IMG_0197.jpg

 

About me: Stinky cheese and funky beer enthusiast, former mad scientist, She-Hulk fangirl, and CrossFit weirdo.

I grew up in Michigan, but I’ve lived in Wisconsin for more than 10 years, and I think of myself as from here more than I do where I was born (beer, cheese, and the Packers? Easy choice). I’m a stay-at-home mom to two-year-old twins, and I’ve also been a grad student, a science teacher, and a software tester. Also, Team Marvel with the exception of old Justice League reruns on Netflix.

About my writing: SF&F with a feminist bent and a fair amount of crying–my aesthetic is “sad astronauts and angry princesses”. I’ve sold a few short stories, two to professional markets, and I’ve got some critting experience under my belt–three times at the WisCon writing workshop, and I’m a member of both the Online Writing Workshop and Codex.

About what I like to read: Favorite novelists include Tamora Pierce, Ursula K. Le Guin, N.K. Jemisin, Catherynne Valente, Terry Pratchett, and Zen Cho. As far as short stories go, Alyssa Wong, Rachael Jones, and of course Ted Chiang are names I get hearts in my eyes for.

What I’m looking for in a mentor: I have been face-deep in this book for so long that it’s gotten hard to see the forest for the trees. I’d love the kind of deep reading that a mentor could offer to really polish it, trim out wayward plot cul-de-sacs, and give character arcs the emotional boom they deserve. I work hard, I meet deadlines, and I love this book–I’ll do what it takes to make these pages shine.

If you have any questions or want to chat, I’m on Twitter (possibly more than I should be) @Aimee_Ogden; otherwise, good luck with either picking or getting picked!

Leave a Reply

